About SEAT

Serving Southeastern Connecticut since 1975.

SEAT is a transit district, created by local towns in New London county as authorized by the General Statues of CT (Chapter 103A).  Although primarily relying on State funds, SEAT is a local government agency not a State agency.  SEAT’s member towns are:  East Lyme, Griswold, Groton, Lisbon, Montville, New London, Norwich, Stonington and Waterford.  Each member town appoints one or two board members (based upon population) to represent them on the SEAT Board of Directors.  The Board sets general policy and budgets for the District.

Mission Statement

The mission of Southeast Area Transit District is to operate a safe, effective and outstanding regional public transportation system, linked to inter-modal resources. This will enhance the quality of life for all that work, live and visit Southeastern Connecticut. It will promote and support regional growth for the present and future transportation needs. It must meet the needs generated by future regional growth in Southeastern Connecticut.

SEAT Bus at Union Square
SEAT Bus at Union Station
SEAT Administration & Maintenance Building


It is the goal of the Southeast Area Transit District to plan and operate a continuous, comprehensive, and coordinated bus transit system that meets the mobility needs of the residents and businesses in Southeastern Connecticut at the least possible cost to users, the cities and towns which comprise the transit district, and the State of Connecticut.