西亚特的历史

东南地区交通区 > 关于西亚特 > 西亚特的历史

自1975年以来致力于康涅狄格州东南部

东南地区交通区于1975年12月成立,当时东莱姆,格罗顿,蒙特维尔,新伦敦和诺维奇投票根据“CT法典”组建了一个区。 Ledyard和沃特福德此后不久加入。该区的愿景是建立统一的交通系统,以取代以前由独立实体运营的本地和区域公交服务的大杂烩。由于联邦和州资本拨款和机车车辆交付的各种延误,该区于1980年4月开始运营,当时它接管了由当地运营商提供的新伦敦和诺维奇的服务。西雅特还开始在格罗顿和诺维奇之间提供通勤服务。 Griswold和Stonington后来加入了该区。在服务的头两年,西亚特在诺里奇租赁了一个设施,而其新的国家资助设施正在普雷斯顿建造。西亚特于1982年搬入该工厂,并继续担任该工厂 西亚特的行政和维护设施.

在其运营的早期阶段,西亚特提供从成员城镇到的专用班车 电动船 to support the navy’s build-up in the Reagan years. These shuttles were tied to morning and afternoon shifts at Electric Boat, and in between the shifts, continued operations as local or “corridor” (regional) service.

1980s SEAT Bus operating Route 108 at New London Union Station in New London.

由于国家资金继续不足以满足该地区的需求,通勤路线在80年代中期停止运营,而西亚特大学则努力为该地区提供公共交通服务。

西亚特目前的服务已根据该地区的需求而发生变化,但也是为了应对财政限制。 2012年,SEAT减少了服务,以应对国家运营援助的减少。应该指出的是,SEAT与CT的所有过境区一样,从国家获得约70%的营业收入,因此必须根据国家的预算变化调整服务。

诺里奇市获得了建立联运的特殊联邦资金 运输中心 位于10号瀑布大道的瀑布大道,作为其位于诺威奇的服务中心。多年来,SEAT在该设施的客户服务中心提供的人员有限,但由于国家援助的减少,被迫关闭了该办公室;但该设施继续作为西亚特诺威奇服务的枢纽。诺维奇市已将其停车管理局迁至此地点,并同意在其办公室出售SEAT门票和通行证。

2015年,SEAT与东南CT政府理事会(SCCOG)合作,启动了一项重要的服务研究(综合运营分析或COA),该研究建议进行多次路线变更,由于资金限制尚未得到广泛实施。为了响应电动船和海军在格罗顿的子基地的计划扩建,西亚特正在与SCCOG合作更新COA,并希望获得2019/2020的实施资金。

zh_CNChinese
en_USEnglish es_ESSpanish fr_FRFrench jaJapanese ko_KRKorean pt_PTPortuguese zh_CNChinese

The History of SEAT

Dedicated to Southeastern Connecticut Since 1975

Southeast Area Transit District was formed in December 1975 when East Lyme, Groton, Montville, New London and Norwich voted to form a District under the Code of CT.  Ledyard and Waterford joined shortly thereafter. The vision for the District was to create unified transit system to replace the hodge-podge of local and regional bus services previously operated by independent entities.  Due to various delays with Federal and State capital grants and delivery of rolling stock, the District begin operations in April 1980, when it took over service in New London and Norwich which had been provided by respective local operators.  SEAT also started commuter service between Groton and Norwich. Griswold and Stonington later joined the District. For the first two years of service, SEAT leased a facility in Norwich while its new State-funded facility was being built in Preston.  SEAT moved into this facility in 1982, and it continues to serve as SEAT’s Administrative and Maintenance facility.

During its early years of operation, SEAT provided dedicated shuttles from member towns to Electric Boat to support the navy’s build-up in the Reagan years.  These shuttles were tied to morning and afternoon shifts at Electric Boat, and in between the shifts, continued operations as local or “corridor” (regional) service.

The commuter routes ceased operations in the mid-80s, as State funds continued to be insufficient to meet the region’s needs, while SEAT endeavored to provide public transit services to the region.

SEAT’s current service has changed in response to the region’s needs, but also in response to financial constraints.  In 2012, SEAT reduced service in response to reductions in State operating assistance. It should be noted that SEAT, like all Transit Districts in CT, receives about 70% of its operating revenue from the State, and as such, must adjust service in response to the State’s budget changes.

The City of Norwich secured special Federal funding to build an Intermodal Transportation Center at 10 Falls Avenue, which serves as SEAT’s hub for its Norwich service.  For several years, SEAT provided limited staffing at the facility’s customer service center, but due to reductions in State aid, was forced to close this office; but the facility continued to serve as the hub for SEAT’s Norwich service.  The City of Norwich has relocated its Parking Authority to this location and agreed to sell SEAT tickets and passes at its office.

In 2015, working with the Southeastern CT Council of Governments (SCCOG), SEAT initiated a major service study (Comprehensive Operational Analysis or COA), which recommended numerous route changes, which, due to funding constraints have not been widely implemented.  In response to the planned expansion at Electric Boat and the Navy’s sub base in Groton, SEAT is working with the SCCOG to update the COA, and hopes to secure funding for implementation in 2019/2020.